Government of Saskatchewan announces increase of 170 seats for nursing programs
From left: Dr. Vianne Timmons, President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Regina, the Honourable Don McMorris, Minister of Health, the Honourable Rob Norris, Minister of Advanced Education, Employment and Immigration, Dean of Nursing at SIAST, Netha Dyck, Acting Dean of Nursing at the University of Regina, Dr. Sheila E. Dresen, and David Walls, Senior Vice President, Academic, SIAST. -Photo: U of R Photography Dep't

On October 14, the Government of Saskatchewan announced an increase of 170 seats for Saskatchewan baccalaureate nursing programs. Graduates of these programs will be prepared to become licensed as registered nurses.

Through this commitment the University of Regina - for the first time ever - is able to offer a nursing degree program, in collaboration with SIAST: the Saskatchewan Collaborative Bachelor of Science in Nursing (SCBScN) program.

"The University of Regina is excited to offer this new nursing degree program in collaboration with SIAST," University of Regina President Vianne Timmons said at a news conference held on campus that day.

"The University of Regina has a national reputation as a leader in health-related research in many areas, including aging and pain management, population health, cancer research, rehabilitation and risk reduction and rural and northern health. The creation of a Faculty of Nursing is a wonderful opportunity to build on that expertise and increase our academic offerings for students," said Timmons.

Applicants who meet the admission requirements will have the opportunity to enter the SCBScN program directly out of high school and to begin taking nursing courses in the first semester of the first year. The program will have a strong focus on clinical practice and inter-professional education. Students will gain nursing experience in both acute care hospitals and community settings such as schools, outpatient clinics, long term care facilities, community health and public health organizations.

Classes for the SCBScN program will begin in September 2011.

In addition to the nursing degree program, the University of Regina has a strong health research profile which is enhanced through a number of centres, including: the Dr. Paul Schwann Applied Health and Research Centre, which focuses on exercise therapy and workplace wellness, as well as cardiac rehabilitation and chronic disease and risk reduction programs; the Falls Prevention Laboratory, which is the home of the Neuromechanical Research Centre that conducts research in such areas as biomechanics, motor control, motor learning, balance and posture, sport medicine, and ergonomics; and the Healthy Aging Laboratory, which investigates the reduced quality of life due to the negative effect aging has on strength, cardiovascular function, and functional independence.

The SCBScN is consistent with the identification of health as one of the five strategic priority areas of the University of Regina and is aligned with values illustrated in its strategic plan, entitled Mâmawohkamâtowin:  Our Work, Our People, Our Communities.

The Government of Saskatchewan news release can be viewed at:

To learn more about the Saskatchewan Collaborative Bachelor of Science in Nursing program, visit .