Release Date: June 5, 2007
Media Contact: Stephen King, External Relations
Phone: (306) 585.5632
Mobile: (306) 536.4312
Fax: (306) 585.4997
Convocation ceremonies to honour excellence
The installation of Dr. R. James Tomkins as the University of Regina’s sixth president and vice-chancellor will highlight the University’s annual spring convocation ceremonies at the Conexus Arts Centre in Regina on June 6 at 2:00 p.m.

Over three days – June 6, 7 and 8 – convocation will also recognize the outstanding achievements of graduates, faculty and distinguished members of the community.

This spring’s student award winners represent some of the University’s best and brightest, demonstrating high academic achievement and a deep commitment to serving the community.

Luther College student Sherry Anne Rapley, for example, has earned both the President’s Medal and S.E. Stewart Award in Arts. She is a founding member of the Creative Avenue Artists Collective where she has helped co-ordinate events that create community among artists and other groups within the City. She has also volunteered in Zambia using drama and music to communicate messages of non-violence and self-esteem at schools and children’s hospitals.

Janet Crawford McKenzie is another noteworthy graduate. She will be presented with the University Prize in Social Work and is a mature student who has earned her degree through the University’s affiliation with Yukon College. She established the Yukon’s first Fair Trade import business and has worked a great deal with Yukon First Nations people. From talking with Elders she has taken to heart the necessity of learning First Nations history written, spoken and interpreted by First Nations people.

Other award winners include:
• Garrett John Schmidt – Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Saskatchewan Gold Medal in Engineering
• Jeanette Marie Marcotte – Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Saskatchewan Gold Medal in Geoscience
• Samantha Ann King – Leon Goldman Scholarship
• Stephanie Anne McKenzie – Governor General’s Academic Gold Medal
• Christopher Ian Ramsey – Governor General’s Academic Silver Medal
                                          – University Medal
                                          – University Prize in Science
• Angela Louise Hill – James M. Minifie Award
• Michelle Christine Smith – W.A. Riddell Award in Fine Arts
• Ashley Nicole Mang – Saskatchewan Teachers’ Federation Award
• Karen Angela Shantz – University Prize in Kinesiology and Health Studies

For more information about these awards and their recipients, please view the document accompanying this news release.

The University will also recognize internationally renowned Saskatchewan ceramicist Victor Cicansky with an honorary doctor of fine arts, as well as Dr. Thomas Courchene who will be presented with an honorary doctor of laws for his more than 40 years of influencing Canadian public policy.

The University will present 1814 students with degrees, diplomas and certificates during the three-day spring convocation ceremonies. A detailed breakdown of graduates by faculty also accompanies this news release.

For more information about spring convocation, and to view a live webcast of the ceremonies at 2:00 p.m. on June 6, 7 and 8, please visit