University of Regina and Kookmin University in South Korea sign MOU

News Release Release Date: July 18, 2011 12:00 p.m.

The University of Regina and Kookmin University in Seoul, South Korea, have signed a Memorandum of Understanding. The MOU will provide opportunities for more students from South Korea to attend the University of Regina. It will also provide opportunities for academic and research collaboration between the two institutions.

The University of Regina currently has eleven undergraduate and three graduate students from South Korea.

University of Regina President and Vice-Chancellor Vianne Timmons says the MOU will benefit students and faculty members. "As part of our strategic plan, we are focused on providing enhanced international educational experiences both for domestic students and for those from other countries. This agreement will welcome more students from South Korea to our campus, as well as provide the opportunity for University of Regina students and faculty members to study and conduct research at Kookmin University."

A Student Exchange Program will allow two or three undergraduate students from each university to study at the other institution, so they can learn about their cultures.

There will also be a Joint International Undergraduate Degree Program, in which students may study for the first two years of a program at Kookmin University, and then complete the final two years at the University of Regina and earn a degree from the University of Regina.

Kookmin University was established in 1946 and has 24,000 students.

A delegation from Kookmin University - including Dr. Sung Woo Lee, President; Dr. Seung Ryul Jeong, Vice-President (International Affairs) and Dr. Hong Jae Yim, Vice-President (Research) - toured the University of Regina and met with the Faculty of Business Administration, the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science; the Department of Computer Science; and English as a Second Language.