University Board of Governors elects new Chair, Vice-Chair, and welcomes new members

News Release Release Date: August 12, 2011 12:00 p.m.

The University of Regina is pleased to announce the appointment of a new Chair and Vice-Chair and three new members to the 2011-2012 Board of Governors.

Paul McLellan is the new Board Chair. McLellan is a Regina businessman who graduated with a Bachelor of Administration from the University of Regina in 1981, as well as the Executive Master of Business Administration program at the University's Kenneth Levene Graduate School of Business. He is President of Sun Electric Ltd., President and CEO of Mancon Holdings Ltd., and General Manager and CEO of Alliance Energy Ltd. His appointment as Chair runs until July 31, 2012.

Lee Elliott is the new Vice-Chair. A business entrepreneur and a management consultant from White City, he obtained a Masters of Business Administration degree from the University of Regina in 2008. Elliott has been the owner and manager of End of the Roll in Regina since 1997. His appointment as Vice-chair runs until July 31, 2012.

Elaine Bourassa has been elected to the Board of Governors by the University of Regina Senate. Her term runs until June 30, 2014. Bourassa is a chartered accountant with a Bachelor of Administration degree (great distinction) from the University of Regina. She has more than 35 years of experience in finance and administration roles and an extensive background in finance, accounting, strategic planning, project management and administration with companies such as Greystone Managed Investments, IMC Potash, and SaskEnergy.

Mark Brigham has been elected as the faculty representative to the Board of Governors. His term expires June 30, 2014. Brigham is a professor and head of the Department of Biology whose research interests include the behaviour and ecology of free-living animals under natural conditions. He has received the University of Regina Alumni Awards for both Public Service and Teaching.

Kent Peterson, President of the University of Regina Students Union, has been appointed to a term which runs until April 30, 2012. Peterson graduated from L.P. Miller Comprehensive High School in Nipawin. He received a Bachelor of Business Administration from the University of Regina in 2011, and is currently completing a second degree as an acting major in the Theatre Department of the University's Faculty of Fine Arts.

Continuing on the Board of Governors are: ex-officio member Dr. William F. Ready, Q.C, Chancellor; Dr. Vianne Timmons, President and Vice-Chancellor; Patrick Maze; Susan Barber, Q.C. (past chair); Brenda Barootes; and Stuart Pollon.

"I welcome our newest members to the Board of Governors," said University of Regina President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Vianne Timmons. "They are joining a very strong team, and I look forward to working together with them to move the University of Regina forward as we begin a second century of education on our campus."

The Board of Governors oversees the administrative and business affairs of the University. It has ultimate authority over the raising and spending of University funds, and over the acquisition and management of University property. It also appoints the President and Vice-Chancellor of the University.