Swimming Competition Research Team Receives 2018 Innovation Award

Posted: April 11, 2018 1:30 p.m.

(L – R) Dr. David Malloy, Brett Park, Dr. Yang Zhao, Dr. John Barden, Ken Loeppky.
(L – R) Dr. David Malloy, Brett Park, Dr. Yang Zhao, Dr. John Barden, Ken Loeppky. Photo courtesy Focus 91 Photography Studio and Gallery.

Dr. John Barden, Faculty of Kinesiology and Health Studies (KHS), Dr. David Gerhard, Department of Computer Science, Dr. Yang Zhao, Department of Computer Science, Mr. Oscar Vila Dieguez, Graduate Student, Faculty of KHS, and Mr. Brett Park, Shiverware, received this year’s Award of Innovation for research on competitive swimming technology.

At the elite swimming level differences of a hundredth of a second can be the difference between gold or silver or reaching the podium at all. The research project involves using sensors fixed to the body to extract stroke performance information. The primary objective is to use this information to provide feedback to coaches and athletes who can then adjust their strokes to be more consistent and effective.

Since 2015, funding for the research has been provided through an Innovation for Gold grant from Own the Podium, an initiative of the Federal Government to achieve excellence at the Olympic and Paralympic Games.

“I wish to thank Innovation Place for supporting this award and to the committee for selecting us as this year’s recipient,” says Barden. “I’m also grateful to Own the Podium for funding this research, which has provided me with an opportunity to expand the project and to collaborate with a great team of people from other disciplines who all bring their diverse skills and strengths to the team.”

The Award of Innovation sponsored by Innovation Place recognizes original University of Regina research that has the potential to create substantive societal benefits. The award includes a $2,500 prize.

Eligible nominees include University of Regina faculty, staff, and students who have made a significant contribution to a nominated research project. Award recipients are chosen by a selection committee comprised of representatives from the University of Regina, the local community and Innovation Place.

The award is presented annually at the Paragon Awards, hosted by the Regina and District Chamber of Commerce.

Related stories:

 Working to own the podium

 Innovation award for engineering team

 Professor gets Innovation Award for Senior Care Research