President and Vice-Chancellor

Permanent URI for this community

The University of Regina is one of Canada’s younger universities, having been established as an independent institution in 1974, and yet it can trace its roots back to 1911, the earliest days of the City of Regina and the Province of Saskatchewan. By Canadian standards, the University of Regina is a medium-sized institution, with about 12,000 students. Yet it is big enough to offer a wide array of degree programs at the undergraduate and graduate levels, while maintaining an intimate and friendly atmosphere. Despite being situated in a region of climatic extremes, the University of Regina has created an attractive, functional campus within Wascana Centre, one of the largest urban parks in North America.

While the faculty and students of the University of Regina engage in scholarly activity and research across a broad range of disciplines, the University remains cognizant of its location on the Canadian prairies and of its motto:

As One Who Serves

The University of Regina has established five areas of thematic emphasis for its teaching and research programs: culture and heritage; energy and environment; health; informatics; and social justice. These areas of emphasis build on expertise developed at the University over the years and reflect our determination to make a difference by addressing and resolving issues of critical importance to Saskatchewan and the nation – and our planet.

For more information about the President's Office or to read the President's message, please visit the web site at: