46th Fall Convocation celebrates academic excellence, leadership, and community service

By Justin Waldrop Posted: October 18, 2019 2:00 p.m.

The 46th annual Fall Convocation will see 738 students receive degrees, certificates or diplomas.
The 46th annual Fall Convocation will see 738 students receive degrees, certificates or diplomas. Photos by U of R Photography Department

The University of Regina's 46th Fall Convocation takes place today at the Conexus Arts Centre in Regina honouring the outstanding achievements of 738 graduates being awarded 758 credentials.

"Congratulations to all of our graduates today. Thank you for choosing the University of Regina as YOUR University," states President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Vianne Timmons. "As you join our family of nearly 76,000 alumni, I know that the University of Regina will remain an important part of your life."

Presiding over Convocation ceremonies for the first time is our new Chancellor Pam Klein. The University's ninth Chancellor, Ms. Klein is the President of Phoenix Group and has been associated with the University of Regina for many years as a student, an alumna, and most recently, as Vice-Chair of the Board of Governors.

Several students are being recognized today for academic excellence, leadership, and community service.

This year's recipient of the University of Regina President's Medal is Quinn James Bast - Software Systems Engineering, Great Distinction (UGPA 87.35%). The President's Medal is awarded at each convocation to a student receiving a first degree. Bast is being recognized for his outstanding academic achievements - he has been on the Dean's Honours list eight times throughout his academic career and has been the recipient of several scholarships - and for his leadership and extracurricular activities, including involvement with the Regina Engineering Student Society.

Bast is also the recipient of the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science Dean's Medal and the University Prize in Engineering and Applied Science.

Receiving the President's Distinguished Graduate Student Award is Dr. Tegan Beattie - Doctor of Philosophy in Physics (95% average). The award recognized Beattie's exceptional thesis and corresponding defense, his outstanding academic performance in his graduate program, and his leadership and community involvement.

Beattie has received numerous awards at the undergraduate, master's, and doctoral levels, including the Sadie and Norma Ratner Prize in Physics, Faculty of Graduate Studies, and Research Graduate Scholarship, and the UR Graduate Scholarship.

Other academic award recipients include:

  • Faculty of Arts - Dean's Medal: Janelle Elizabeth Gerard, Bachelor of Arts Honours;

  • Faculty of Business Administration - Dean's Medal: Alexa Eleni LaPlante, Bachelor of Business Administration;

  • Faculty of Nursing and School of Nursing - Dean's Medal: Temiloluwa Judith Durojaiye, Bachelor of Science in Nursing;

  • Saskatchewan Registered Nurses' Association Gold Medal For Excellence in Clinical Practice: Crystal Ann Knihnitski, Bachelor of Science in Nursing;

  • Saskatchewan Teachers' Federation Award: Marie Louise Malick, Baccalauréat en education;

  • University Prize in Media, Art and Performance: Brett Daniel Wyatt, Bachelor of Arts;

  • University Prize in Science: Joseph Daniel Ashworth, Bachelor of Science;

  • University Prize in Business Administration: Kira Loren Hall, Bachelor of Business Administration;

  • University Prize in Social Work: Nolan Wayne Gagnon, Bachelor of Social Work;

  • University Prize in Arts: Savannah Kenya Odle Kosteniuk, Bachelor of Arts; and,

  • University Prize in Kinesiology and Health Studies: Taylor Arjun Teckchandani, Bachelor of Kinesiology Honours.

As well, Art Wakabayashi, former University of Regina Chancellor (2001-07), will receive the highest recognition the University can bestow - an honorary degree - for his lifelong commitment to public service and contributions to the province.

Along with celebrating graduating students, the Faculty of Nursing is celebrating a key milestone - graduating its 100th Indigenous student at today's ceremony.

For information on Convocation, please see fall convocation details. If you can't make it to Convocation, the ceremonies are being live-streamed on Access 7.


Former University of Regina Chancellor Art Wakabayashi to receive Honorary Degree